Northeastern Rider
    Feb 2009

BB7 vs. Juicy 5 stopping power

Hello all,
    Considering BB7's for my next build but I have never used them before. I usually use Juicy 5's on my builds. Does anyone have time w/ both? How is the stopping power/feel of the BB7's compared to the juicy 5's?
    "The original concept of freeriding was that there was no set course, goals or rules to abide by. "
    Mountain Riders

mtbr member
    The biggest reason people dislike BB7s is because they don't have them adjusted properly. When dialed in properly, they will feel a lot like the Juicy 5's.
    When dialed in poorly, they will feel much much worse.
    I think the stopping power will be better with the Juicy 5s, but it depends on how big your rotor is and how well you need them to stop.
    If you're doing flat XC stuff, BBs with a 6" rotor should be fine. If you're doing steep descents, put on an 8" rotor.
    I've run BB5s with a 203 rotor and found they stopped me as well as a strong hyrdo with a 160.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    Define: "stopping power" I weigh 230ish lbs with my backpack on and the first time I grabbed a handful of brake on my 185mm BB7 kit I put the rear wheel in the air. If you have levers like speed dials where you can adjust the ratio you can set them to be so powerful that they're unusable (if your rotor is true enough).

Northeastern Rider
    Feb 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by nato_the_greato
    If you're doing flat XC stuff, BBs with a 6" rotor should be fine. If you're doing steep descents, put on an 8" rotor.
    I've run BB5s with a 203 rotor and found they stopped me as well as a strong hyrdo with a 160.