UBER Addict

BB7 'Road' brakes on a MTB?

Is that ok? I just picked up a new set of BB7's for realy cheap and being a newb didnt know there was a difference between the road and MTB models. Can the "Road" BB7's be used on an MTB? Is there a major difference between the two or any drawbacks for using them on an MTB. I installed the rear yesterday and rode with it and it seemed to work fine. Thanks guys!
    The UBER V poll! Take it now!!

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    I use them, they work fine. I just grabbed them off the shelf of the shop one day and didnt even notice they said road untill i had been running them for about 3 months. Im not sure of the difference.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by gdotbat
    Is that ok? I just picked up a new set of BB7's for realy cheap and being a newb didnt know there was a difference between the road and MTB models. Can the "Road" BB7's be used on an MTB? Is there a major difference between the two or any drawbacks for using them on an MTB. I installed the rear yesterday and rode with it and it seemed to work fine. Thanks guys!
    The Road caliper uses a short cable pull. If used with long pull mtb levers (all current levers) the braking effort will be higher, but still work.
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

UBER Addict
    Thanks for the replies guys. The brakes came with something called an 'In-Line Barrel Adjuster', I guess its used to remove cable slack. Do you think installing this will help the problem with the longer pull levers?

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    Thanks for the replies guys. The brakes came with something called an 'In-Line Barrel Adjuster', I guess its used to remove cable slack. Do you think installing this will help the problem with the longer pull levers?
    No, most road bikes don't have an adjuster on the brake lever its on the brake itself so this is why you would need an in-line one when going to disc.

mtbr member