mtbr member
    Feb 2009

BB5 feature or problem?

I am new to disc brakes and have a quick question. I was working on practicing hill climbs and notice that if I lose my momentum and have to stop mid climb the front brake stays locked even after I release the lever. I was wondering if this was a feature of the brakes or if this was something that needed to be checked out? The front caliper stays locked until I really squeeze the lever and then it will release. Almost like it's an emergency brake feature.

mtbr member
    Apr 2006
    Interesting?
    To the best of my knowledge it is not a feature and I used bb5ís for a season.
    Sounds like something is not releasing properly, I would realign the caliper against the rotor and then adjust pad clearances.
    Make sure the brake lever, cable and brake actuator lever ETC are not binding when put under pressure.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Thanks RG32. I'm in the process of looking up the manual on the BB5 so that I can better understand the adjustments. It's a brand new bike that I picked up yesterday and the LBS mechanic went over everything before they let me take it home. So I figured either the problem didn't occur while he was looking at it or it was intended to work that way.

Regardless I'll get it figured out even if it means a return trip to the shop.

EDR
    So I figured either the problem didn't occur while he was looking at it or it was intended to work that way.
    Go see the lbs. No brakes are intended to work the way you described. The cable is binding somewhere or the lever is wacky.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by eatdrinkride
    Go see the lbs. No brakes are intended to work the way you described. The cable is binding somewhere or the lever is wacky.
    My mind tells me to go back to the LBS. But the mechanic in me says that I can figure this out.