Caution: Freerider
    Mar 2005

BB5 Avid Mechanical installation trouble

First of all, i'm new to Mtbr.com forums.. so hey to you all. i'm only 15 so excuse me if i'm not familiar with technical terms...

I'm upgrading Hayes to mech. avids bb 5s - bought them for $130 total (including shipping). but anyways to the problem... i started installing the front one first since i thought it'd be easier and it's the more important one. I got everything on and it seemed fine except the rotor has a little drag on only one certain part of the rotation. i'm guessing it's because something is bent but i dont know what.
    I know the rotor isnt bent cause it's new and i checked it so it's either my rim or fork. I'm 60% sure it's my fork since 1) i have a 2003 giant iguana disc and the reviews said the fork sucks and bends, 2) mine already bent (i think) and my wheel was crooked and was closer to one side of the fork than the other. so i put a little piece of metal on one side of the fork at the end so it would even out...
    It still could posibly be my rim that's bent... not sure.
    Basically my question is: how do i figure out what's bent??

Again, i'm sorry if i gave you excess information or if i'm not specific with my details (only 15...)

thanks for any help and thanks for taking time to read through my long, boring description!

mtbr member
    it's your rotor, i gaurantee it. even though it's new there's still some imperfections on some rotors, so it's either that or the bolts are unevenly torqued, resulting in some warping of the rotor.

three fixes:

the hard one is to get a torque wrench and retighten all the bolts evenly.

the easy one is to just push on the rotor with your thumb to straighten it out. i would suggest covering your thumb with a paper towel to prevent contaminating the braking surface, but it really doesn't matter that much