No Gansta Lean here.
    Feb 2004

New question here. Avid Single Digit Ultimate vs. Paul's Motolite

Which brake? Here's something that may influence your choice (outside of performance). The frame that is being built up from scratch is an old school Eastern Woods Research Original Woods Bike frame. It is going to be my every day trailbike. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Love my Paul Motolites

I have no experience with the Avid's although I am sure they are great too. The Paul's are light and very sturdy because the levers and brake arms are machined aluminum. What I love the most is how easy they are to adjust as the brake pads wear. I also like the beafy coil springs on each side of the brake arm. I have run them for two years now with no problems.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    i used paul's for a long time on my trials bike, definitely a great brake. like the last guy said, the coil springs are nice and stiff, and in addition, the brake is easy to disconnect. the reason i stopped using them was because my frame had horizontal dropouts, and i found that the pad adjustment was something of a pain after changing flats and such.
    the avids would be my choice, they have literally zero play in the calipers, and i find the pad adjustment to be simpler. power is pretty comaprable.
    anyways, good job scoring that ewr, i have long lusted after a tight little short-chainstayed machine like the ewr.
    tim

ا
    Old school = go with Pauls.

But, check out Avid Black Ops, supposedly the best vbrake ever. Besides those crazy Magura ones.
    [Size=2]Looking for...
    A PINK Chris King Headset... and disc hubs!

As well as a Morati crankset!
    PLEASE Email me or PM me with any leads!!!
    [/size]

Oni
    Master Of Fooliganism

Not Pauls

Quote Originally Posted by Eastcoaster