mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Avid or Shimano??

I've had enough of these Tektro Novelas. I've had too many problems and adjustments with them I'm wanting new brakes. I'm on the fence between Avid BB7 and Shimano Deore. I've only saw good reviews on both brakes. I'm fairly new to the mtb scene and ride mostly trails nothing hardcore and some roads. I would think hydros give more power than mech brakes but what do I know. Any help would be appreciated.

Oh, I've GOT bike money
    Avids came on my last 2 bikes, but I wouldn't go out and buy them. Stopping power and modulation are very good, but they tend to honk, squeak, or sound like a turkey in a haunted house if everything isn't set up just right.

mtbr member
    Buy a set of SLX brakes. Dirt cheap and great performance. And they make no sound. All Avid brakes howl. I don't know why but they do. Shimano brakes are quiet.
    On MTBR, the reputation is infamous.

mtbr member
    +1 on the SLX. I have replaced the AVID's on both of my bikes with SLX. There's really no comparison between the 2.

<100%
    Both are good. BB7's are easy to set up and maintain, very adjustable and never need bled. If I was in the mountains with long tech dh's, I'd go with the hydro's. If not, pick 'em.

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    SLX are a little out of the budget right now theres still other things that need money thrown towards it. I've narrowed it down to these 2 sets BECAUSE they're so cheap and the reviews are so good. I pretty much have my mind set on hydros. Thanks for all the input really helped!

mtbr member
    Shimano Deore are awesome. Here is a good review:

2012 Shimano Deore M596 Brakes - User review

Jenson has a pretty good deal on them now.

Rider

Avid or Shimano??

I have had both the bb7 and the deore, as well as many other avid and shimano brakes.

Deore all the way, really powerful, simple setup, easy to bleed. Less hassle than dealing with cable brakes.

Shimano have the best brakes around IMO.

Rider