I like Monkeys

Avid Minus the CPS system?

I've been fighting the dreaded turkey warble for a couple of years on my Juicy 5's. I'm really wanting other brakes but it's hard to justify with our budget right now. I really think that part of the problem is the CPS system making the system less rigid. So today I removed the top pair of CPS washers and replaced them with a normal flat washer and tightened them down. I left the lower pair to keep the spacing correct but the flat washer kept the caliper from rotating and it also had the bolt head almost directly on the caliper with an effectively shorter bolt. It seemed to help a good bit on today's ride with less warble and resonance., I'll see how it goes in the future. I also found it interesting that for the first time ever, I held the lever, tightened the bolt and they were perfectly centered. That never happened with the CPS washers. Has anyone else tried something similar. Will any other adapters allow direct mounting of the caliper without any washers?
    What do I want to be when I grow up.....Dead!

mtbr member
    VaughnA, Perfect timing 'cos right at the moment I am doing the same thing but I have cut my own spacers from a sheet of aluinium that is exactly the same thickness as the bottom two silly washers. When they are done I paint them black.

I done the rear a week ago( I only done the one incase it didn't work ) and it works a lot better than with the wobbly washer system and as you have found a lot easier to setup.

I have never had the turkey thing and don't know how that sounds but mine squeel so loud in the wet that I just don't want to ride. The rear is a lot quieter now so I hope I have the same result with the front.

I should have the front finished in an hour(ish)

EDIT: Forgot to add that I glue the spacers to the bracket with strong epoxy before painting it that way it is "as one"

Have some pics.....
    Last edited by yetibetty; 03-23-2009 at 10:24 AM.

mtbr member