mtbr member
    Jun 2004

avid mechanicals dragging badly after tire change!?!?

Hey all, total newby to disks. I just swapped the tires out on my new VT3. I pu the wheels back in carefull to lne up in the calipers while installing so I didn;t hit or knock out the pads. Now they drag!!! I tried adjusting the knobs and it made no affect. I have a ride ealry tomorrow morning and will just have to live with them making noise, but can someone help me??

Do I need to reset my calipers everytime I pull a wheel out?? That seems a little outrageous..

Larry
    '93 DB Ascent HT, Manitou front shock, XT Der's, SRT500's, SS7 with 987's
    '04 Giant VT3, bone stock

meh....
    Quote Originally Posted by lamrith
    Do I need to reset my calipers everytime I pull a wheel out?? That seems a little outrageous..

Larry
    Only if you can't install your wheels the same way each time you take them off the bike. You have to be really careful to install the wheels exactly the same as they came off every time. Then, and only then will you not have problems with your disc brakes dragging. It would do this with any brand of disc brake you have on your bike, it's not an Avid Disc Brake problem, it's you. Don't take it personally, it's just something you need to learn to do.

Monte

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    So take the offending wheel off and reinstall. Also make sure you don't overtighten the quick release as over compressing the skewer can result in the rotor being moved just enough to make it rub. I usually put the wheel in and then just adjust the pads. For me that's easier than trying to get that wheel in exactly the same spot each time.

mtbr member
    Jun 2004