mtbr member

New question here. Avid Mech--2 questions

Hi:

I'm thinking of getting Avid mechanicals for my almost five year-old Superlight. I have two qs:

1. I have to remove the front wheel to place the bike on my bike rack. In the MTBR reviews of Avid mechs, there was mention that the brakes have to be readjusted each time the front wheel is removed. What does this entail? (I am not a mechanical person.) How long does it take? Are there other disc brakes that don't require this?

2. Are there other brakes within this approximate price point which weigh less than the Avids?

Thanks!

On MTBR hiatus :(
    Quote Originally Posted by NottheDon
    I have to remove the front wheel to place the bike on my bike rack. In the MTBR reviews of Avid mechs, there was mention that the brakes have to be readjusted each time the front wheel is removed. What does this entail? (I am not a mechanical person.) How long does it take? Are there other disc brakes that don't require this?
    Not true. The caliper is fixed to the fork just like any other caliper. The rotor is mounted to the hub just like any other rotor. There is nothing inherent in the Avid's design that causes it to have this problem any more often than any other disc brake.

Most often the need to realign after wheel removal comes from inconsistant tightening of the QR skewer.

My own method to ensure this is done right each time is to (1) close the QR lever (2) tighten the skewer nut until it stops (hand tight) against the dropout (3) re-open the QR lever and (4) tighten the skewer nut a pre-determined amount ? 1-1/4 turns in my case.

Another solution is to purchase a doo-dad called a "Quick Nut" which allows you to set a stop point for the QR for repeatable consistency. I haven't used them but many here have and think it's a good product. Search the old boards for more info.