mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Avid juicy ultimate / bad brake smell??

i just bought a new mtb with Avid juicy ultimate 185mm brakes.
    went out in the mountains for the first time and whilst riding down very fast on the road i noticed some vibration on the rear tire when braking. about midway down i made a stop and got a very strong smell of burning brakes like that of a semi-truck thats been riding its brakes too hard on steeps.

so i'm wondering if somthing is wrong with them, if this is normal or if i was just too hard on them, or???

this is my first time using hydraulic brakes or disc brakes for the matter and
    i'm new to mtb if it isn't obvious.

thanks in advance for any reply's

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    It's mostly normal as long as you don't have a pad dragging due to a sticking caliper or misaligned caliper body. If you were on the brakes very much then you're going to heat them up and yeah, you get that resin smell from hot pads.

I hope you broke them in properly first before heading to the extended downhills...if not, it's possible to glaze the rotor and/or pads that way. It can be fixed with some fine sandpaper and breaking them in again, if that happened. Sometimes the pads will be shot and you'll need to replace them. Usually it's fine to scuff and re-bed.

If your frame and fork will take it, you might consider going to a 203mm rotor if you do a lot of steeps. Or at least on the front. Best solution is to lay off the brakes, or to start-stop several times instead of just applying them the whole time.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    how do you properly brake in the brakes? and being that i didn't, how can i tell if the pads and rotors are glazed?

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    I don't break in my pads. Just normal stopping will break them in soon enough, but if your riding a fast road or steep downhill it would be wise to break them in and test thoroughly before heading out.