mtbr member
    Nov 2007

Avid Juicy bleed kit

I`ve refitted my Juicy 5`s back to my fsr after removing the Hayes Stroker Rydes (which were too on/off for me). The Juicies (especially the rear) are a bit spongy and I`m sure they need a bleed. Do I have to buy the dedicated kit or can I improvise ? I`ve never bled brakes before so I dont want to cock it up !

Meh.
    You need the kit.

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    Have been having some problems with my Juicies and think I might have contaminated the pads (despite 2 bleeds the lever is mushy and is virtually all the way to the bar before stopping me - particularly when going downhill). As the pads are quite worn I`m not too bothered about changing them.

I want to keep to sintered and price is not a problem so should I stay original or are there better options out there ?

turtles make me hot
    I've been a mechanic for a LONG time and when I put Juicys on my stepson's bike and the rear one was spongy, I tried pumping the lever and cracking the screw while holding the lever down as you would an automotive application. No luck. I got the bleed tool, followed the instructions, nice brakes.
    I like turtles

banned
    You need Hope or Shimano if you want to do that. Bleed kits are retarded at this point.

Meh.
    You either have a leak or you performed a poor bleed.

The pistons self-adjust for pad wear. Contaminated pads wouldn't make the lever feel squishy.

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    i`ve changed the pads (as they wer low and shiny) will try tomorrow then re-bleed.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Jerk_Chicken
    Bleed kits are retarded at this point.
    So is shooting brake fluid all over the garage wall. Shimano uses mineral oil, which is not a big deal but DOT brake fluid is nasty stuff. Bleed kits are a nice, effective, clean way to go about the work.

ride hard take risks
    Quote Originally Posted by swift