mtbr member

Avid hydros continue to confuse me..help!

The issue I have been battling is that my rear brake lever had too much travel before the pads contact the rotor. When I install new pads, there is no issue. As they wear, it requires more and more lever action to get the same feel. Today, I took out the r. wheels and pumped the pistons out until the pads touched. Then, I pushed them back in so I could get the rotors back in. Problem is better, now they are nice and tight again. I am just suffering sticky pistons? They don't seem to stick - they always retract back in quickly and never drag.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by TiGeo View Post
    The issue I have been battling is that my rear brake lever had too much travel before the pads contact the rotor. When I install new pads, there is no issue. As they wear, it requires more and more lever action to get the same feel. Today, I took out the r. wheels and pumped the pistons out until the pads touched. Then, I pushed them back in so I could get the rotors back in. Problem is better, now they are nice and tight again. I am just suffering sticky pistons? They don't seem to stick - they always retract back in quickly and never drag.
    Its a problem I see sometimes after a bleed or when one is necessary. If you have a pad contact adjuster or a reach adjustment they could both be the culprit, heres why: