Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Nov 2012

Avid Elixr 1 Questions

A pair of Avid Elixr 1s came OEM on my new bike. I've read some horror stories about Elixr brakes, but mine have been fine so far, so I'm cautiously optimistic. A couple of questions:

- I see Avid replacement pads can have either a steel or aluminum backing plate. What are the advantages and disadvantages to the steel and Al?

- Does the little bolt (pad pin) that keeps the brake pads and spring from falling out of the caliper come with the replacement pads?

- The Elixr 1s use a cotter pin in place of the pad pin that is used on all of the other Elixr models. No doubt, its a little cheaper with the cotter pin, and 1s are the entry level brake, so I understand. But I'd find it hard to pull a cotter pin out and replace it on the trail unless I started riding with some needle nosed pliers. So I'd like to make my Elixr 1s take the pad pins like th eother Elixrs. I think that I have to thread the hole for the pad pin. Has anyone else done this? If so, any idea which tap I need?

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    1) Steel pads are heavier, the aluminum ones are lighter. Likely, that is the only benefit you will see, though the two materials have different heat transmission rates.

2) No. Avid replacements come with neither the cotter pin or pad spring. They can be bought from just about anywhere. Aftermarket pads sometimes come with the spring, but nobody sells all three in one go. I would check with a local bike shop if you happen to need either, as they will likely have extras knocking around from busted equipment.

3) Not sure of the size tap you need off the top of my head, but it can be done. Realistically, though, there is not much you will be able to fix on the trail with a hydro brake that removing the pads would facilitate. I wouldn't spend the money on the taps unless you can justify it somewhere else.

mtbr member
    Nov 2012