mtbr member
    Jul 2010

Avid Elixir Question

New to hydraulic disc brakes and just picked up a pair of Elixir 3Rs that were take-offs from a 2013 Carve Expert. Seller said he rode with them on 2-3 times before switching over to BB7s (for easier on-tail maintenance when bike-packing) and that they've been sitting around his house ever since. He also said they performed great when he had them.

Just put them on my bike tonight and I've got two issues I need to get sorted out. The front brake feels like it has zero pressure and goes right to the bar when I pull in on the lever. The rear brake is the complete opposite. It's extremely stiff when I pull the lever and it barely moves at all.

Since I'm new to hydraulics I'm just guessing, but here's what I came up with for possible causes.

Front brake (zero pressure):

-air in the system (lever/master cylinder, hose, caliper/slave cylinder) either as air bubbles or a pocket
    -under-filled system (not enough brake fluid in the system)
    -blown seal either in the master cylinder or caliper
    -open system (would probably see leaks though)

Rear brake (stiff/too much pressure)

-over-filled system (too much brake fluid in the system)
    -sticky piston(s)
    -something broken in the lever assemble or caliper assembly

Any suggestions on what to try first? I was thinking of buying an Avid bleed kit and performing a bleed on both brakes and seeing where that gets me. I could even go as far as to completely flush the old fluid out and replace it with new fluid.

Thanks in advance!

Never Forget 9-11
    I would try and bleed both sets. The bleed kit instructions are good plus there is a you tube video available to walk you through the process.
    It's such a fine line between idiocy and genius.

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    ^ +1

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2

bt
    mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    I would toss them in a dumpster.

The Original Suspect
    Quote Originally Posted by bt View Post