mtbr member
    May 2008

Avid Elixir (Can't get them to shut up!!)

Hello guys,

I have Avid Elixir brakes that chirp when I am leaning on my bike or just moving it slightly. They also squeal when applied while riding. They are driving me crazy! I find myself riding faster and a little reckless just to avoid hearing the squeal I'm not sure if it is the rotor or the pad causing the noise or a combination of both. Please help me come up with some ideas to remedy the squeal before I go mad! Thanks!!

mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    Read This...the problem described is worse than yours, but the idea is the same.

Clean the rotors with alcohol, lightly sand the pads, align the calipers, try a different type of pad, try a different rotor, etc., etc.

mtbr member
    Nov 2006
    I am far from an expert on this but I have Elixirs on my bike as well. They were squealing loud at first. I did as suggested above: cleaned rotors, aligned calipers, sanded/cleaned pads.

It was still a bit squeaky, but far less. Then after the past few rides they are almost silent. I think that the pads may have needed to break in?? I dunno, but I would get it all set up right, get some miles on it..I really am very happy with them now.

mtbr member
    May 2008
    Wow... is there a Cliff Notes version of that thread??? That is one long thread! Thanks for the info.

ride hard take risks
    Quote Originally Posted by Kelly Klett
    Wow... is there a Cliff Notes version of that thread??? That is one long thread! Thanks for the info.
    Thats the whine post.
    Formotion Products
    http://www.formot

mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by Kelly Klett
    Yes, I gave you the cliff notes. Try cleaning the rotor and aligning the caliper. Is the problem front and back?

Elixir Manual

mtbr member
    Jul 2007