Let's fly!

Avid Elixir brake bleed - solid feel but no adjustment left

I'm fairly new to brake bleeding, but my 2 year old Elixirs have started requiring a couple of pumps to get full power. Time to learn how to bleed the brakes!

I purchased the Avid kit and followed the SRAM YoutTube video. I did it very slowly, carefully, and thoroughly. There were definitely some bubbles coming out during the process.

When the process was complete, the brakes no longer require pumping to get full power. They feel totally solid on first squeeze.

But to get the amount of braking I like (a LOT), I have to have the lever all the way out and the pad contact adjustment all the way in. This provides solid braking, but there's no adjustment left, nothing left for a mid-race adjustment if they fade a little, and no way to compensate for pad wear over time. I would much prefer to have solid braking action with the adjustments more in the middle of the range. At the very least, I'd like to have a few clicks in case of fade during a race or something.

I think I need to get more fluid into the system. I'm considering sanding the pad spacer block down a millimeter and then doing the lever bleed again. It seems to me that a little more fluid would give me the desired braking more in the middle of the adjustment range.

Does that make sense to those experienced with Avid hydro brakes? Or is there some other approach I could use to get powerful brake action with the adjustments (particularly pad contact) in the middle of the range?
    '13 Spec Epic 29er, '09 Orbea CX, '12 Cannondale SuperSix, '08 Spec Transition, '06 Simtra Trials (sold), Yamaha YZ450 (sold)

mtbr member