mtbr member

Avid Elixir 3 or Deore M596

Hi guys!

I'm changing the v-brakes on my Hardrock for a pair of disc brakes. And these will be my first st of hydraulic brakes ever! So I'm basically a disc brake noob!

The reason is, the trail I ride became very muddy because of the frequent rain down here. And when I ride through a muddy section the brakes get misaligned and start to rub the rim. This happens every time when I go through a muddy section. I only started MTBing this May so I didn't knew how the v-brakes would behave in deep mud. I ride in light AMish trails and don't do much jumps but love to ride fast. The brakes work well in summer time though.

Levers and front brake calipers: Avid SD7
    Rear brake caliper: stock Tektro
    Brake Cable: Jagwire Ripcord
    Brake Pads: Switchback Tri-Zone cartridge

The pads and cables are only a month old.

The 2012 Avid Elixir 3s are going 95 with 180mm rotors and post mount adaptors.
    Deore M596 are 100 without rotors or adaptors (+ 70 for rotors and adaptors) .

I'm in a tight budget so I can't spend more.
    Are the Elixirs a good buy?
    I can get the M596 now but have to get the rotors and the adaptors in a later day.
    Also I will install them myself.

Would really appreciate your help.

Thanks in advance!

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    before you get avid hydraulic brakes read this thread
    The Juicy brake turkey warble/vibration MEGA THREAD

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    I'll never buy elixirs again. Shimano or hayes. I use Hayes.
    There's something about those long grueling climbs that gets my front end all stiff... And I'm not talking about lockout...

mtbr member
    Are they that bad?
    Even for normal trail riding?

No talent hack
    Nov 2010