Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Answered: Please ignore thread. Replace brakes or new bike?

714 views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  JonathanD 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello all.

I have been riding my Giant Yukon for 2 years now. I like the bike in general.

The Hayes GX2 (non hydrolic) disc brakes often rub, squeal in wet and dry conditions, and in general suck.

Is it worth spending the $200-$300 upgrading them on a bike that cost $380 to start with?

Or should I just save money and replace the bike?

Is there a general price range where bikes get good components.

I ride few trails, mainly a commuter, some jumps (5ft, nothing big).

Thank you for your time.
Jonathan

#2 ·
JonathanD said:
Hello all.

I have been riding my Giant Yukon for 2 years now. I like the bike in general.

The Avid (non hydrolic) disc brakes often rub, squeal in wet and dry conditions, and in general suck.

Is it worth spending the $200-$300 upgrading them on a bike that cost $380 to start with?

Or should I just save money and replace the bike?

Is there a general price range where bikes get good components.

I ride few trails, mainly a commuter, some jumps (5ft, nothing big).

Thank you for your time.
Jonathan
Hi Johnatan.

About replacing your discs, well, you should know how much you like your bike or not. Or how important braking is towards judging a bike.

I don't know if your problem with the brakes are adjustment, or they just suck. As far as I've heard, Avid makes the best mechanical brakes out there, and it could just be a bad adjustment out there.

Going for another bike that would have better brakes than you currently have it's not going to be cheap. I don't really know street prices out there, but probably you would have to pay more than 600 bucks or so for a bike with hydros.

Well, just some thoughts.

#3 ·