Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

What size rotors for my disc touring bike???

Hey guys, I'm new to te bike packing/ touring scene and I am buying myself a new steel frame to build for the tour across America I will be venturing on next year. I want to put some avid bb7 brakes on the bike and I want to know what size rotors to get. The frame I will be building on Will either be a tout terrain grande route from Peter white cycles or a Gunnar grande disc. I'm thinking 160 on the front and 140 on the rear? What size rotors do you guys use in your disc touring rigs?
    thanks,
    Chris
    14 years, 6 bikes, 1 ambulance ride, 12 medals, 4 ribbons, 2 trophies, and some cool scars = BIKING ADDICTION!!!!

mtbr member
    This will be a road tour?

How much do you weigh?
    How much is the weight of your gear?

Do you tend to brake lots to stay slow or let the bike run when face with a descent?
    Safe riding,

Vik
    www.vikapproved.com

Lord Thunderbottom
    I think it's going to depend on your weight and type of touring, based on the bikes listed I'm assuming road touring

If you're under clyde size 160/140 sounds fine, I run that size on my road/cross bike, I'm 240# so if you're close to that with the bike loaded there shouldn't be issues

I'd go 180/160 or 180/180 for myself, looking at 300#+ loaded up
    Today I will do what others won't, so tomorrow I can do what others can't

mtbr member
    We'll I'd like to keep the weight of my gear at around 40-45 pounds via my ortlieb bags. I way 190# so total it would be around 240 give or take with some if the other misc gear.
    14 years, 6 bikes, 1 ambulance ride, 12 medals, 4 ribbons, 2 trophies, and some cool scars = BIKING ADDICTION!!!!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by sc10pc View Post
    We'll I'd like to keep the weight of my gear at around 40-45 pounds via my ortlieb bags. I way 190# so total it would be around 240 give or take with some if the other misc gear.