Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Apr 2014

Surly ECR worth it?

I absolutely love it, but it's a lot of money, espcially compared to other frames - on one's. Would love to hear some input
    EDIT: Or would I maybe be better off just getting a pugsley and running 29+ on it? I already have a mukluk, but I'm finding it really sluggish for long distances while carrying weight and I want a steel bike so bad! I'm not sure how the riding geometrey would differentiate between the pugs and the mukluk though...
    Last edited by OfficerFriendly; 07-14-2014 at 06:27 AM.

seedub
    More than you ever wanted to know re: ECR. Read the rest of the blog regarding chasing the the all-rounder. Sounds like you two have a similar dilemma.

Dissecting the Surly ECR | gypsy by trade
    you may have come before us on no bicycle, but that does not say you know everything.

Lord Thunderbottom
    the low BB when running traditional 29er tires or lower volume tires for mostly paved tours puts me off

why not 29+ the mukluk? too much difference in the drivetrains you want for touring vs winter/beach rides?
    Today I will do what others won't, so tomorrow I can do what others can't

mtbr member
    Apr 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by seedub View Post
    More than you ever wanted to know re: ECR. Read the rest of the blog regarding chasing the the all-rounder. Sounds like you two have a similar dilemma.

Dissecting the Surly ECR | gypsy by trade
    Thanks for the article! I absolutely love that blog, it's amazing...

Quote Originally Posted by TitanofChaos View Post
    the low BB when running traditional 29er tires or lower volume tires for mostly paved tours puts me off

why not 29+ the mukluk? too much difference in the drivetrains you want for touring vs winter/beach rides?
    Fair enough, and no I really wanted to keep that as a fatbike, and I don't really love riding it long distances.... Need something built for touring!

mtbr member