mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Super commuter/bikepacker/tourer

So I'm pretty sure my next project will be some kind of adventure bike that will also serve as a commuter (I think). Here are the two routes I'm thinking right now:

Kona Rove Ti

Salsa Fargo Ti

Either way, I would build up custom.

I'm in to being able to use drop bars, but I'd also like the bike to be capable on light single track. Does anyone have any thoughts? I'm totally new to either kind of riding (currently just a trail rider on a Tallboy LTc), but bike packing has been calling to me, and I'd also like to ride to work more and have some cargo capacity when I do. I'm in the Inland Empire of SoCal, if that's relevant. Lots of beautiful desert to get lost in once it cools down.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by hillharman View Post
    So I'm pretty sure my next project will be some kind of adventure bike that will also serve as a commuter (I think). Here are the two routes I'm thinking right now:

Kona Rove Ti

Salsa Fargo Ti

Either way, I would build up custom.

I'm in to being able to use drop bars, but I'd also like the bike to be capable on light single track. Does anyone have any thoughts? I'm totally new to either kind of riding (currently just a trail rider on a Tallboy LTc), but bike packing has been calling to me, and I'd also like to ride to work more and have some cargo capacity when I do. I'm in the Inland Empire of SoCal, if that's relevant. Lots of beautiful desert to get lost in once it cools down.
    You know I think only you can answer this, what you need, where your going, and how you want to do it. You could always just get a YAK hooked up to your Tallboy and see where things take you from there.