mtbr member
    Mar 2008

Skiiddii trailer review

Hello all, im new to this part of the forum. I just spent days trying to find something on these trailers and failed I thought I would would write a few words for others out there. This is mostly for the British contingent as it seems they are mostly found here. I also posted this review at another bike forum that Im at a lot, but its not really geared towards camping and touring and I thout it would be better here.

I needed a get-around trailer for touring, camping and daily chores in my new country (the UK). At first I was looking at super expensive trailers by Bob or Burly (I have one in the USA) but I thought id take a chance on one of the e(vil)bay types. The Skiiddii trailer had a phone number attached (good sign) and so I gave it a call and organized to get down to the warehouse to collect a trailer direct (big discount). Anyway not only was the trailer only 50 pounds, I could inspect it before buying. Skiiddii trailer review-trailer-4.jpg

So this was the type I wanted as it took the heaviest load (60 kg) and was the lightest. The good news first: Its a bargain. An amazing, unbelievable bargain. Wow. In a place that a good espresso is $4, 50 pounds for a whole working trailer is astounding.

Main good points:
    It all fits together and works
    Its well designed
    It has a braided steel base and can work without the nylon cloth upper.
    it takes an incredible 60kg weight when evenly distributed.
    Its all metal... No plastic bits at the joints or hinges
    It looks pretty damed good.
    Cups and cone bearings are greased.
    All stressed nylon areas are bar-tacked.
    The trailer arm double locks into the trailer.
    Heavy duty double bolted spring arrachment.
    Lots of failsafe safety built in. (double this and double that).
    The major loading surfaces are all reinforced to some extent and there is some stress relieving going on.

The not so good bits: