mtbr member

Safety while bikepacking

Hi, I am reading a lot about bikepacking and the idea seems more and more attractive to me each day.

I have experience camping with my tent but mostly on campgrounds. Being new in the country I wonder if you can share some hints with me...I live in California and I am thinking about short bikepacking trips to the northern and southern sierras. I like rough terrain more than touring.

1) where can I set-up camp? Wilderness regions, state parks...I am unfamiliar with the basic rules that apply for bikepacking.

2) which basic safety rules I must follow to be safe of wild animals? Very different here from my homeland in Europe.

Regarding water and avoiding lightning, flooding etc I am not so concerned since I have some more experience

Any hints or link to resources would be appreciated.

since 4/10/2009
    As for where to go, you have to look at what land management policies are for the areas you want to visit. Find the trails, then find permissions. Every land manager is going to have different rules about where you can put a tent. Some will allow dispersed camping (put a tent anywhere in the forest, as long as it's so far from trails and roads and water, etc). Some will not allow dispersed camping and require you to use developed campsites or campgrounds. Some won't allow camping at all.

Wilderness is a big, resounding NO. Not gonna happen with a bike. On foot, sure, but not on a bike.

Animal safety depends on the animal. Things you do to be safer around bears (mostly how you handle your food and cooking) will be different than things you do to be safer around mt. lions or rattlesnakes. To know what animals you need to concern yourself with, you need to know where you're going and what animals are likely to be found there.