mtbr member

Question about pedals - clipless or flats

I'm a newb planning my first bikepacking trip and I have a question, concerning pedals. Do you guys prefer clipless or flats and what are the pros and cons of each? Thanks

mtbr member
    I prefer clipless. Doubt I could ride well now days with flats. If necessary I just unclip for the technical section or cope with falling over

Andrew

mtbr member
    Where are you riding? If its technical stuff and you usually ride clipless, then stick with that. The con is that you might want a more comfortable camp shoe, or something to hike around in. You can get around this if you get a clipless shoe with good tread.

Flats are nice if its smoother terrain and you can just wear hiking shoes/boots.

I think its pretty much a preference thing. I would stick with whatever you usually ride in.

mtbr member
    I would also say stick with whatever you're used to or prefer most. You could go with a Shimano PD-M324 pedal to have flats and clipless on your bike at all times, then it's just up to your mood or what shoes you grab first.
    Mountain bikers who don't road ride have no legs...
    Road riders who don't mountain bike have no soul...

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    I go flats. They allow me to bring just one pair of shoes, one that's generally suitable for riding and hiking (and bar hopping). Approach shoes like the Five Ten Aescent work well, provided you use a good set of BMX-style pedals. There's some loss of efficiency I guess, but very little, and you can move your feet around on the pedals to minimize fatigue over the course of a very long day, negating at least some of the efficiency disadvantage.

I'd certainly not deride anyone's preference, but honestly, I think a lot of clipless devotees would be surprised at how well you can pedal with a good flat/shoe combo. And then you can just get off your bike and walk around like a normal human, since your shoes are no longer "gear."

mtbr member