Thread: Pugs Rack

mtbr member
    Jan 2013

Pugs Rack

Hey guys,
    I tried finding this before I posted but couldn't find any info, so I apologize if this has already been discussed! I am new to biking and am eager to get into bikepacking - I'm going to be riding a Neck Romancer and wanted to garner people's thoughts regarding pugsley racks for touring. Are they worth the weight? I do a lot of backpacking and have pretty light gear and am thinking I can get by with just a few frame bags and save some weight since the bike is already heavy and I am new to the sport. With that said, and because I am new I wonder if there is some aspect I don't yet foresee where racks would come in really useful. I'm going to be doing most of my touring in the four corners area if that makes a difference. Thanks a lot in advance!

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    There is a thread on this subject somewhat of rack/panniers vs frame bags and such. It was a bit hard to find, so here it is:

Rear Racks Vs Frame/Seat Bags

Personally, I switched from the frame/seat/bar bags to panniers (Jandd Mini-Mountain's) and drybags on top of the racks (Bontrager's, fully welded joints). I didn't like having to stuff all my crap into very small spaces and the "floating" of the seat and handlebar bags bothered me. I can't afford to spend the money on all the latest greatest, smallest, lightest items you need to have to fit into the smaller bags and be properly prepared either. Soon, hopefully, I will be welding up some of my own racks for my Pugsley and sewing another set of panniers to balance out my rear ones. I have kept using my frame bag however, because it is solid and makes a lot of sense to me.

Edit: Here is another thread that may be of some relevance to you: racktop duffle ?

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    Hey thanks a ton Turtle for you help, those links are super helpful.

mtbr member
    Dec 2012
    Hi mattvogt7