mtbr member
    Jul 2014

Maybe a stupid question about frame/seat/handlebar bags...

Disclaimer: I'm total noob at bikepacking, heck I've never even backpacked a night of my life, but I'm an interested observer/bystander of this bikepacking/touring thing.

However, it seems that lots of the bikepacking setups seem overly complicated (and expensive). For a cheap and simple setup, can't you just get 2-3 compression sacks like these and strap them to the handlebar, frame, seat (say 10/15/30L) using cam/tie-down straps, like this setup? If more volume/stability is required, just add a durable rear rack and strap the sacks to the top/side of the rack.

The custom frame bags from Revelate/etc. seem nice, but $100 for a 18L Large size dry bag?

It may not be the prettiest or lightest setup, but couldn't it work just as well? Like I said, maybe a stupid question..
    Last edited by bosun120; 2 Days Ago at 12:00 PM.

mtbr member
    I have been living on my bike since 2004 just traveling around Europe. I have seen many set ups, some very costly and others very low budget. We have 39 riders in our group that live this way, but since we live on our bikes & trailers we tend to have more stuff than most who are just going out for a week or two.

However none of that matters, what gear you have, how much you have; the important thing is that you have what you need to enjoy the bush. If I had to replace everything I have with me I would spend close to 30K, but if I saw another person with my same setup that only did this once or twice a year and then went back to their job, house, car, family... I find that rather odd, I would wonder how someone like that could enjoy them self out in the bush for a couple weeks with all that Gucci.

To me that Sweetroll is overkill already, a tightly rolled tarp and some Surly cargo straps work great. But the compression sack I find as a must, I have used the same one from Cabellas since 2004.