mtbr member
    Jan 2004

GPS Battle: Garmin Edge 705 vs 800?

I'm new to bike GPS's. I'm only used to them portables for the cars. For cycling, a newbie.

I want a GPS for:
    Maps
    Finding my way back if lost
    Trail finding new trails
    Screen can operate with gloves on
    Water/weather proof

Don't really need:
    calorie count
    altitude
    cadence
    HR
    Pretty face
    Strava
    Virtual training partner
    blah blah blah

Is the 800 overkill for my purposes? Is the 705 good for the above?

Any experience appreciated
    We Ride In God's Country!

A guy on a bike Moderator
    Check out the eTrex series, the most popular GPS for bikepacking.

mtbr member
    May 2010
    or you could wait for the Garmin 900.....

ColoradoCoolBreeze
    Aren't both 705 and 800 touch screens? That might be an issue with gloves. Something to consider.

04 Azonic Saber
    08 Yeti AS-x
    12 Rocky Mtn 29er Alt 970

Unhinged Aussie on a 29er
    Quote Originally Posted by SingleTrackLovr View Post
    Aren't both 705 and 800 touch screens? That might be an issue with gloves. Something to consider.
    It's a resistive touch screen; I can operate mine with gloves on, but not my cell phone, which uses a capacitive touch screen. I thought the 705 had a little joystick on the front in the middle though.

The Edge 800's mount can be finicky if you poke it from the side too much without supporting it with both hands - the tabs can snap off, and this was a major issue on the Edge 500 but not on the Edge 800 (worth mentioning though). That being said, the only reason to poke it from the side is to push the power button, which you shouldn't be doing too much. It uses a twist mount, which if you're placing it close to other objects can be bad as you'll have to rotate it to get it on and off and it might hit said object, e.g. I can't put mine too far up my stem otherwise it'll smack the clamp as I rotate it, even if it sits just fine once on.