Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2004

Flats or Clipless Pedals?

Do anyone have a strong opinions about using flats, Wellgo MG1s, instead of SPDs for a 7 day hut to hut from Telluride to Moab?

I'm leaning towards wearing flats for comfort and so i can save space and bring only bring one pair of shoes.

undercover brother
    Quote Originally Posted by mappable View Post
    Do anyone have a strong opinions about using flats, Wellgo MG1s, instead of SPDs for a 7 day hut to hut from Telluride to Moab?

I'm leaning towards wearing flats for comfort and so i can save space and bring only bring one pair of shoes.
    I was about to lament the fact that their are wayyyy too many of these threads thinking it was a beginner asking which was better for general riding. Good thing I read before I posted

I have no experience in 7 day rides, but I would imagine flats would be the way to go. Space/weight/packing all would be reduced and regular shoes would be more comfortable over the span of a week. (IMO)

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Flat tend to make me less racer boy for whatever reason. Something to consider I'd you have trouble pacing yourself for the epics.

mtbr member
    Subscribed.

Considering a 7 days trip myself... Asking myself the same question...

mtbr member
    FWIW, I'm getting ready to do 7 days or so on the Ozark Trail (MO) in October. I'll be using flats for all the reasons tangaroo mentioned - one less thing to haul, better for hike-a-biking, less fiddly, etc. Still haven't decided between a pair of low-rise light hikers or my Keen sandals. Both work well.

IMHO the pedaling efficiency of flats vs clipless is minimal - nowhere near enough to make the difference between finishing strong & bonking.

mtbr member