mtbr member

First Bikepacking trip to the Kokopelli

Hello everyone my name is Justin and a couple of guys I ride with and my self was wanting to start planning on a Kokopelli Trail ride. I have never done a bikepack trip before and was wondering if I could get some info on the trail, seasons, and what to expect. I thank you very much for the info and help

mtbr member
    Here is a start:

bikepacking.net > Routes > Kokopelli?s Trail

The search box at the top left and Google will help fill in the blanks.

Bikepacking.net is [not suprisingly] a good source of bikepacking info as well.
    Safe riding,

Vik
    www.vikapproved.com

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    With my son and wife I did the Kokopelli Trail in 4 days, self supported, last October. This is a leisurely pace, averaging 35 miles/4000' climbing per day. We went east to west.

Your main challenge is water, but even that is not bad with careful planning. For us 4 to 5 days of food is about the most we can carry and still enjoy singletrack riding. Good thing is that particular part of your load gets lighter real fast.

The other challenge is season. Parts of the trail traverses hot and dry desert, others go up high where snow cover the route sometimes into late spring. In other words, for a spring/early summer trip when the snow finally is gone, the desert might be uncomfortably, if not dangerously hot.

That makes October the premier month.

Hope this helps.

mtbr member
    Thank you guys very much. Is hard tail or full would be better

jan_nikolajse. Is there any good water spots and what is the best camping sites and other great spots for seeing that great country and is this best to do it self supported or having a chase car. Or should we do a guided one

mtbr member
    Oct 2011