mtbr member

Bikepacking South America!

Hola, greetings from Buenos Aires!

Im a photographer, soon to be cycling South America to make & print family portraits for those who've none.

First Ill cycle Argentina, 3000 miles along the Andes (the entire Ruta 40 and beyond) and then a new Country every other year.

In the next couple of months, Ill start cycling 1000+ miles through Southern Patagonia and other remote locations, as bikepacking warming trips. Any tip/suggestion will be very appreciated...

MUY FELIZ 2015!!!

Best regards,

Federico
    Their Only Portrait. Portraits & Cycling
    Soon to be bikepacking South America making & printing family portraits for those who've NONE. www.theironlyportrait.com

saddlemeat
    Sounds like a fascinating mission and a great journey! Are you carrying all your camera and printing gear on your bike?
    The way you can tell a man has an objective independent existence is by how well he knows the night sky.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by bsieb View Post
    Sounds like a fascinating mission and a great journey! Are you carrying all your camera and printing gear on your bike?
    Looks like going from the gear list. Sounds like a great idea and ride.

Andrew

saddlemeat
    Seems like alot of gear (2 printers!) to carry with bike packs. Just curious...
    The way you can tell a man has an objective independent existence is by how well he knows the night sky.

mtbr member
    Hola Andrew,

Ill definitively be carrying everything I need to make, print, and deliver the portraits to the families right after they're made... but Im not 100% sure if Ill be carrying a smaller/lighter backup for every item, yet.
    In a month or so, Ill start the bikepacking warming trips with different gear setups in order to find the best option for the trip.

Ill also have a rear rack with small panniers, in case the bikepacking bags + backpack setup isnt enough to carry all the gear.

Saludos,
    Federico