mtbr member
    Apr 2008

Woodstock bikes - advice?

Hey all -

new to the forum. I used to be a huge biker back in high school and college, but havent done any biking in a long long time. I have decided to get back into the game, and obviously need a new bike. My old bike was a GT of some sort, with mostly XT components, and a rock shock judy fork. After doing some research, I have come across Woodstock Bikes (www.woodstock.com) - I was wondering if anyone has heard of them, has one of their bikes, etc... Also, does anyone have any suggestions on bokes in the $700 range? I guess I am just a noob all over again. I dont even really know what are considered good component parts anymore (example: Is XT and XTR still considered the premium, or are there other comparable pieces, etc). Someone help me out as I want to get back in the game asap!

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    I suppose I should add that I am looking for a hardtail, XT parts (or comparable), and disc breaks all for about 700. Is that even doable?

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    XT and XTR are still the premium Shimano components. In the last 5 years or so, SRAM has come in and taken up a good bit of marketshare from Shimano. SRAM's top two tiers are X.9 and X.0, I suppose roughly comparable to XT and XTR. There's a good deal of argument in the forums as to which of the S's are better, but in my experience both work well.

It may be difficult to find a full XT/X.9 bike in the $700's. Maybe your LBS will have an older model they're looking to clear out. If you're looking at 08 models, you'll probably have to settle for some lower end shifters and front derailleur.

mtbr member
    Apr 2008