mtbr member
    May 2017

Taking off 3rd chainring

Hey all,

im fairly new to biking and loving it. I have. 2014 kona precept. I want to take off the 3rd chainring. How do I deal with this? What all do I need to make it possible? Thank you. I'm hoping to learn as I read through and ask questions.

Cheers!

Attached is a photo.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Taking off 3rd chainring-img_7463.jpg  

mtbr member
    Mar 2017
    I can't tell if those are rivets or bolt heads on the chain ring....if they are bolt heads then get the proper allen key or whatever and unbolt them. If it is rivets, then you'll have to drill them out, but make sure you look closely and don't drill out the wrong rivets.

I drilled out my rivets on my 3rd chainring on my trek marlin 7 to convert it to a 1x for cheap, picked up a chain guide on amazon for $30....works well.

mtbr member
    May 2017
    Thanks. Do I need to buy any additional things? Could I just take the 3rd off and call it good? Or would I need to buy something such as a guard or a guide?

mtbr member
    Mar 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyBot View Post
    Thanks. Do I need to buy any additional things? Could I just take the 3rd off and call it good? Or would I need to buy something such as a guard or a guide?
    If you don't get a chain guide you're going to drop your chain alot due to it not being a narrow wide chainring setup which retains the chain much better.

Just align the chain guide that you get to the middle ring 1-2mm above the chain and make sure it clears properly....also you can shorten your chain as well if you remove the front mech and 3rd ring to help retention.

Cycologist
    Isn't a chain guide going to prevent it from shifting onto the 2nd chainring???

What are you going to do with your shifter? I believe some of them can be switched to work 2 or 3, do some research. Otherwise you'll need to change the stops so that you don't shift it to the missing third ring.