mtbr member
    Jul 2017

Suggest All Steel Zero Suspension for Super Clydesdale.

Folks,

Newbie here.

Had a medical issue that put a shit of weight on. Im on my way back down and would like to find bike to ride at lake, bike path and local trails for weight loss.

Im thinking Im way to heavy for a suspension fork, so solid front and end would be best.

I have a 15 year old rock hopper and the front suspension just collapses under my weight.

Was looking at the Niner ROS plus, but I guess they don't make them anymore and Im having a hard time finding an XL. Jensen only has a L.

Looking at all options. Hoping your experience and recommendations can help me find something as Im hiking a bunch now and want to get on the bike for exercise.

Thank you.

6'4" / 350

mtbr member
    Sep 2016
    Kona Unit? They come singlespeed but they are a great value and it wouldn't cost much to add some gears if needed

mtbr member
    If money isn't really a huge concern, I'd look into one of these:

Krampus | Bikes | Surly Bikes

29+ bikes just seem big. Surly builds 'em pretty stout as well.

The one thing I'd recommend looking into is from the way they come is changing the tires. I'd throw 29x3 Knards on there if you are going to do commuting type stuff. The Dirt Wizards are pretty aggressive tires that are good for trails, but Knards are good all around.

If the budget is tighter, look into the Marin Pine Mountain.

http://www.marinbikes.com/us/bikes/d...-pine-mountain

Not sure how strong they are, but they are pretty affordable.
    Life is too short to ride a bike you don't love.

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    I would look at a Surly Karate Monkey too. The 29+ can be a bit much to spin around, but a normal 29er has lots of versatility. The newest version has a few nice features, but the older model will still be a lot of fun, so a used bike will be very reasonable.

mtbr member
    Jul 2017