mtbr member
    Sep 2009

Specialized SJ Comp vs Motobecane Fly Team

I'm new to mountain bikes. I wonder if anyone could comment on the pro/con of these two specific 29er bikes, Specialized SJ Comp and Motobecane Fly Team:

Specialized Stumpjumper Comp 29er 18"
    http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bc/...009&spid=39219
    http://www.bikepedia.com/Quickbike/B...29er&Type=bike
    - upgrades: Fox RLC fork, XT front derailler, XTR rear derailler, Specialized Captain tires, tubeless conversion
    - 18" frame, stand-over 31.3", horizontal top tube 23.8", BB height 304 mm
    - excellent condition, asking $1500
    - owner says retail without upgrades is $1750

2009 Motobecane Fly Team 29er
    http://www.mountainbikebuyersguide.n...type=mtn_bikes,
    http://motobecane.com/ti29_geo.html
    - comes with cleat pedals, extra parts (tires, tubes, front wheel, brake rotor)
    - 19" frame, standover 30.4", horizontal top tube 24.5", BB height 315 mm
    - ridden twice, asking $1750
    - owner paid $1800 for bike only plus $150 for extra parts
    - retail $2000 mail order without extra parts (specs are slightly different):
    http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/..._TeamTI_29.htm

I am told by current owners that each weighs 23 lbs (both the same).

Any thoughts on
    - aluminum vs titanium?
    - differences in components?
    - quality?
    - other?

Comments/suggestions on the sizes also very welcome.
    Both are "about" my size. I'm 5'11", 33" inseam.

I have ridden a Cannondale F29er 2
    http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/08/c...el-8FS292.html
    for a couple of days, with an 18.7" frame, 32" stand-over, 24.5" horizontal TT length (spec sheet, my own horizontal center-to-center measurement says 24.0), 110 mm stem, 27 lbs, and it feels good.

Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by riotanama; 09-14-2009 at 02:02 PM.

mtbr member