mtbr member
    Dec 2012

Should I move components from nice hardtail to lesser quality full suspension bike?

So I own a really nice custom-made Carl Strong titanium hardtail. But for various reasons, I don't like riding it as much as my 2008 Specialized FSR XC Comp (specs available on Specialized website).

As a rookie, I'm wondering... does it make sense to move all the components over to the XC? Is there any reason why this might not work or be a good fit? Then I could sell the Carl Strong frame separately.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Should I move components from nice hardtail to lesser quality full suspension bike?-1.jpg  

Should I move components from nice hardtail to lesser quality full suspension bike?-2.jpg  

Should I move components from nice hardtail to lesser quality full suspension bike?-4.jpg  

Should I move components from nice hardtail to lesser quality full suspension bike?-5.jpg  

Should I move components from nice hardtail to lesser quality full suspension bike?-6.jpg  

Should I move components from nice hardtail to lesser quality full suspension bike?-8.jpg  

Should I move components from nice hardtail to lesser quality full suspension bike?-9.jpg  

Should I move components from nice hardtail to lesser quality full suspension bike?-10.jpg  

Should I move components from nice hardtail to lesser quality full suspension bike?-3.jpg  

mtbr member
    Dec 2012
    Well, for one thing, the seatpost isn't the same size and won't transfer. Will I run into similar problems once I start taking things apart?

It's about showing up.
    It's hard it upgrade piecemeal and have any real measurable effect. This swap will have a huge positive effect on the FSR. So maybe you use the old seat post; no big deal.

A shame you can't enjoy the Ti HT anymore but it happens.
    I don't rattle.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008