mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Sette Reken Hardtail Alloy Frame, build?

i recently bought a used 2009 trek 4300, 18" frame. since, i have rode a 16.5" rock hopper and a 16" trek. i really like the smaller frame, it fits me much better. while i can ride around on my bike fine, i can throw around the smaller framed bikes better. i got into MTBing to get a little exercise and to do it on a budget. ( i got a great deal, $80.00) now like i said, i can ride the current set up! but i see all the good reviews on the sette frame, http://www.pricepoint.com/detail/195...lloy-Frame.htm
    and for $131.00 shipped. and assuming im happy with all the components on my 4300 (for now)
    So, with all that said heres the question. what components will switch over?
    i cant find all the specs on the 4300. like - bottom bracket, i know the seat post is different, but i dont know about the major parts ( crank, derailleurs,)
    i am new to this, so the more info the better..
    thanks

mtbr member
    Things to watch out for will be seat post, steerer tube length, front derailleur size/style, bb is more than likely correct. Unless I missed something everything else should just bolt on.

My Reken
    Big Foot Blue KHS XC704r

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    nice ride.. thanks for the info

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    I just did the same thing switching form a Giant XTC over to the Reken frame to try a smaller size. I had to switch headsets due to mine being a integrated unit on the Giant, and I needed a new seat post as well. Overall really happy with it so far.

I bought an extra derailleur hanger when I bought it, because they wont be available locally. Might be something to think about.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Lesrace82