mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Scott Genius 30 vs Cannondale Rize 4 Lefty

Hi

I live in Portugal and here we do not have a lot of bike options so we must stick to the available and reliable distribuitors of big bike brands like Cannondale, Scott, Specialized, Treck, Giant, ...

I am not a pro and I like a versatile bike to do all mountain rides. Sometimes I face some hard climbing and some single track descends with some drops , nothing radical.

Other thing I need is a confortable bike because my 45 year back always complains after riding .

I am considering Scott Genius 30 ( European Setup - http://www.jasma.pt/marcas/scott/bicicletas/montanha/maratona-trail/?id=24 ) and Cannondale Rize 4 Lefty ( European Setup - http://gb.cannondale.com/bikes/09/ce/model-9VT4L.html ).

Scott has that apeeling concept of the shifter that changes bike geomethry via changing the rear Shock but I tried it twice and I don't feel very safe so far from the ground!!!! The Rize is not available to testing so I don't know if the 130 mm suspension would make me feel the same. I only tried a Cannondale Rush and I liked it a lot.

Can you help me? What is your opinion about these bikes. Someone considered the same decision?

Thanks

Steel is real
    Aug 2004

go the rize

go the rize mate. i've got the rize 4 in australia. Here it comes with a fox fork up front. Its an awesome bike. Climbs like a mountain goat and descends like a demon. My riding style is the set and forget style. I'm not one for worrying about adjusting the fork height or rebound for different tracks. The rize seems to work well on all styles of track here to. From fast flowy to technical rocky descents. The new versions are comming out soon to which include the new version of the rush which is basically a 120mm version of the rize. The rize is going to 140mm.....

mtbr member