mtbr member
    Feb 2006

New question here. Santa Cruz Blur vs Seven-Teres-off road bikes

Hi ,
    I have been riding for many years, but have not owned a FS bike. I would like a light bike, but I do not have unlimited funds-I read the rave reviews of the SCB bikes. A wealthy friend mentioned that he bought the 7-Teres because it does not have the extra weight in the rear, but it it has a modified suspension in the rear- so there is some suspension.. What are the approximate weights of these two bikes? I live in New york City, and have an excellent bike shop that carries the Santa Cruz Blur- the shops that carry the 7 are not that convenient for service. Is there anyone who has experience with these two bikes? I
    am a senior citizen-(triathlete) and would like to spend between- 2500- 3500 -which bike would give me more bang for the buck ?
    Thanks,
    Mel

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

I'm thinking about a Blur

I sold my YBB frame in December. It is a nice ride, beautiful bike but I have decided I want more suspension. I am looking at the Blur XC or the Racer X. I think the Teres is like the YBB. I just feel that more travel will give me higher performance. Plus for that price you can build a Blur that is almost as light as the Seven.

Daniel the Dog
    Mar 2008

I hear you

Quote Originally Posted by jimmy
    I sold my YBB frame in December. It is a nice ride, beautiful bike but I have decided I want more suspension. I am looking at the Blur XC or the Racer X. I think the Teres is like the YBB. I just feel that more travel will give me higher performance. Plus for that price you can build a Blur that is almost as light as the Seven.
    The YBB is such a beautiful bike but a bit hard on my sensitive 40-year-old butt! Too bad Moots doesn't build a FS bike I like. The build quality is mind blowing.

Jaybo

mtbr member