mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Question for Knowledgable riders whether to fix up or buy new

Ive recently been getting back into biking at my local trails.

I have an abused Gary Fisher Tassajara. Its a nice bike but my brother who had used it over the years did not take care of it.

I have ordered new shifters for it since the previous ones were broken and it has alot of issues including the actual frame being all scratched up from abuse.

Im a college student so i really dont have the present funds to put money into this thing.

SO my question is, should i put money into this to make it ridable and enjoy it? Or will it just end up being a money pit and should i save up and get a new Trek 4300?

The reason i say the Trek 4300 is because it is a nice and fairly inexpensive bike that wouldnt be out of my range to save up for.

any thoughts or comments would be great!

dru
    mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    It all depends on how negelected and how old it is. A bike isn't really a money pit unless you are incapable of doing your own work. If the bike is old, it isn't worth much money, especially since throwing new shifters on, a chain, shifter cables, a tire etc. will eat up 2 or 300 bucks quicker than you can blink.

Drew
    occasional cyclist

It's about showing up.
    Yup!
    I don't rattle.

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by dru View Post
    It all depends on how negelected and how old it is. A bike isn't really a money pit unless you are incapable of doing your own work. If the bike is old, it isn't worth much money, especially since throwing new shifters on, a chain, shifter cables, a tire etc. will eat up 2 or 300 bucks quicker than you can blink.

Drew
    Ive bought new shifters and its going to eventually need a new chain and the cassette is bad.

The rear derailleur is pretty beat up but still functional.