dgs
    mtbr member
    May 2006

New question here. Question about the Schwinn mesa GSD from thebicycleoutlet.com

Hi,

Newbie here - both to this forum and the world of biking as well!

I was looking at the Schwinn Mesa GSD from www.thebicycleoutlet.com

Some of the specs on this bike from the vendor are different from the ones listed on Schwinn's website.

For Ex.
    Shwinns Website:
    Fork: Rockshox J1
    Front Derailleur : SRAM 3.0 31.8 top pull
    Rear Derailleur : SRAM SX-5
    Shifters : SRAM SX-4 dual trigger control
    Brake Levers : Hayes HML-2-finger alloy body
    Handlebar : Schwinn 6061 T6. 32 mm Rise

TheBicycleOutlet:
    Fork: Answer / Manitou SIX w/ Reverse Arch Aluminum lowers
    Front Derailleur : SR / Suntour XCC-202 31.8 dual pull
    Rear Derailleur : Shimano Deore
    Shifters : Shimano ST-EF29-8 Easy-Fire
    Brake Levers : Shimano ST-EF29-8 w/ Jagwire compressionless housing
    Handlebar : Butted Alum. 20 mm Rise, 9 degree bend, 620 mm wide

Does this happen (a vendor repackaging a bike with different componentry from that supplied originally by the manufacturer)?

Assuming that this does happen and are not erroneous specs on the vendors website, which components are better - the one's listed on Schwinn's website or the one's on the vendors website.

If the components listed on the Schwinns website are better, am I still getting a good deal (mid 300 range) from www.thebicycleoutlet.com given the "inferior" (to Schwinn, if it's the case) components? The deal is at around 40% off from Schwinns posted price.

Any info will be a lot of help.

Thanks.

mtbr member
    May 2006

2005 Model

I was just looking at that same ad from bicycleoutlet.com... with the same interest over that fairly sweet $350 shipped price.