mtbr member
    Apr 2011

Pivot 5.7 versus Yeti 575

Looking for some guidance on a new bike. I am on an old hardtail and have increased my riding to 2-3 times a week in Southern California and need to step up to a FS.

I have narrowed my search to a 26", 5+- " travel. Carbon is not a requirement. XT level components.

I have mostly narrowed it down to the Pivot Mach 5.7 and the Yeti 575. I have considered the Mach 5, ASR 5 and either Santa Cruz LT or new LRc. I would like to support a smaller boutique brand if possible rather than a larger company (as a small business owner myself).

I understand that there are billion options, but just curious on some feedback.

Cheers

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    BTW,

Most of my riding would be considered trail or xc( Switchbacks, some decent downhill with some smaller drops, 2-3 feet). I am 29 years old, 175lbs, intermediate skill level and my budget is around 4K, plus or minus. I love to climb as fast as possible and would like to increase my skills on the downhill.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Just because I have a Pivot, I'd have to say go for the Mach 5.7.

If I had a Yeti, I would have said the 575.

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    American made frames, small business owner, pure awesomeness = Turner 5 Spot

If not I would go with the Pivot for the DW Link alone... the Frame is made in Taiwan though I think.

Yeti is good, but not a fan of the single pivot.

5 Spot...

T.W.O.
    I would go with another DW link like HD140 or SL-R, if not 5 spot or M5.7, 575 is too XC even with more travel. Even BLTC is more XC than the models I mentioned above.

mtbr member
    Dec 2003
    Just to pile on, I would chose the Pivot, but also look at the Ibis Mojo and Turner Spot.
    Riding slowly since 1977.

mtbr member
    Feb 2010