Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Opinion on this bike? K2 Zed 4.4 - SMU

6K views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  wolfgang8 
#1 ·
Hi all - I am seeking an opinion on this bike. I found absolutely no information on the bike before buying it. So I walked around the bike with pen and paper and listed out each component. I got it for 325 - did I get a good deal for what it is? I'm pretty new to biking, and will be using the bike mainly for both paved and dirt trails. I will push it, but nothing too extreme.

Check out this thread in the K2 forum that I compiled:

http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=534357

#2 ·
I'd hate to reply to my own post, but I want some opinions of possible: Here are the specs so you don't have to go clicking through forums:

Overview: 24 Speed, Aluminum Frame XC Bike

Frame: 6061 Aluminum
Fork: RockShox Dart 1 (w/ pre load)
Stem: Aheadset VP A42E
Brakes: HB MX4 Disc Brakes
Shifter: Shimano ST-EF50L
Front Derailer: Shimano C050
Rear Derailer: Shimano Altus
Cassette: Shimano CS-HG30-81
Tires: Innova Tires 26" x 2.1"
Saddle: WTB Speed V

Is this thing decent for somebody just getting back into biking? How does it compare to other entry level bikes? Based on the components, and assuming the frame is the same as the others in the "Zed" lineup, what do you think is a good price to pay on something like this?

#3 ·