Thread: New bike fever

Go Speed Racer

New bike fever

I have been riding a hardtail 29er (size small) for the past 2 years after getting back into the sport. For some reason I have a bad case of new bike fever. I have been severely craving a 26 inch FS rig. I am short 5'6'', and I feel like now that my skills and fitness have evolved, I am ready to really start tearing it up, and I just feel like a 26er would be a better fit, and FS would allow me to take some of the 2-3 foot drops I have been hitting without taking quite the toll on my body (pushing 40, and I mean really pushing it). Been researching quite a few rides, and demo'ing different stuff, and think I have settled down to wanting one of these (leaning towards the trek):

1) Fuel EX 8 - Trek Bicycle
    2) Trance X1 (2013) - Bikes | Giant Bicycles | United States

My current ride has been upgraded to the teeth, and nothing really left to do to it, but replace it. Now part of me tells me that I am nuts and should just be happy with what I have and wait a few more years. Wife is really not happy with me on this also, so there is that. What can I do to make this fever go away and just be happy with the rig I have now (which really is quite nice)?

Damn this bike thing is like a disease!

Sorry, just had to vent!

T.W.O.
    Both are awesome bikes, I like both as well. Trance X comes with adj post, which is a big plus. Both bikes are fully load with all kinds of tech and I often pick one over the other depending on the day

If you like more set it and forget it suspension I'd go with Giant, but if you like plusher feel on the descend then Trek is the one to go. I don't own either one but I have plenty of trail miles on both bikes, Trek is very close to Roscoe, the top of the list favorite bike that I don't own.

You can flip the coin to make your decision and not feel bad about the result, I can guarantee you that.