mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Need help looking for a Hard Tail

I posted something like this in the wrong forum and was kindly redirected here so i'll try and be as complete in my question as possible. Please keep in mind that i'm completely new to this sport but i've been looking for a few months while I try to make best use of my hard earned money

1) Your budget. How much do you have to spend on the bicycle (not including accessories such as helmet, gloves and other accessories).
    I'd like to keep it under 1000 but can go up to 1500

2) What bikes, if any, are you already considering? (Please try to limit the selection to a handful if at all possible, and provide links to those bikes. Remember, we don't always know the exact specs of all the bikes out there!)
    Jamis (Durango, Dakota, Komodo), Specialized(RockHopper XL Expert) and Giant (XTC 1)

3) What type of riding do you intend to do? (e.g. Cross Country, Freeride, Downhill, paved paths)
    So far a majority of my riding will include trail riding(improved paths), street(under 1 hour rides) and hopefully as i get better, some trails in the mountains.

4) Do you have a preference over a hardtail or full suspension?
    Basically sold on HT since entry in the FS seems a lot more epxensive for a quality build. I did look at the Giant trance X4

5) Age, weight and height. (In many instances very important for a variety of reasons).
    34, 230, 5'8". I lift weights as a hobby and i'm looking for a good way for exercise as well to sub for running.

6) What sources will you consider buying from? (e.g. Your Local Bike Shop, online vendors, or used bike sources such as mtbr classifieds, craigslist, ebay and others)
    I'd like to support a local bike shop but would rather not go in to it blind.

7) Do you want people to offer you alternative suggestions to issues such as budget, bikes already considered, and sources?