Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

My Baby: My custom Giant Revel. Love/Hate? Share your projects!

21K views 45 replies 23 participants last post by  Mr Cup 
#1 · (Edited)
I bought a Giant Revel 2 off a friend for 150 bucks (he bought it for 300 and immediately decided that he wanted a FS). I was looking for a HT 26er project, and here it was. As you all know, the stock components were terrible and the bike was quite a load (I'm not sure of the stock weight, but it had to be 35lbs). So I spent about 4 months compiling new parts via cheap internet sales (I was determined to do this on a budget...I'm a grad student), and here is my final product: Every single component has been upgraded other than the headset.

I've got the weight down to 23 pounds, which has made riding it lot of fun. Also, this is my first time going 1x9 and I LOVE it!

Attachments

See less See more
#4 ·
looks like a great ride... but a few tidbits...

it appears your chain is to long... Park Tool Co. » ParkTool Blog » Chain Length Sizing

and your cockpit looks like it's pushed to far forward... look into measuring for K.O.P.s... it'll more then likely (unless you've got a weirdly short femur) push your saddle back a bit... then a shorter stem will keep the cockpit length the same... also your saddle rails appear to be bent... part of it being so far forward (the same thing can happen to it if it's to far back)

but in the end... enjoy it :)

#9 ·
Thanks for the response, Donalson. I appreciate the feedback. I am looking into a shorter stem...any recommendations for a shorter, decently priced, low rise stem?

How is something like the Easton Havoc?
Since the only one showing available is the 80mm, I would say that it's probably a good starting point. You really do need to get that saddle centered better on the rails and you could probably benefit from tilting it so that the saddle is level (not nose up like currently).

#10 ·
#16 · (Edited)