mtbr member
    Jun 2014

making mtb more road-worthy?

I'm new to cycling, I'm a HS student without a big wallet. I love to MTB but riding on the road is also something that appeals to me. Rather than spend $500 at least for a crappy road bike, I'd like to hear your input on converting a MTB to a pretty capable road machine.

I have a budget of maybe $150? Slightly more if it's worth it.

This is my bike:
    Specialized Bicycle Components

Obviously road slicks are a must:
    Specialized Bicycle Components
    Found those because they fit my bike's original tire size (I have no idea if I can get smaller width or not).

And I was thinking bar ends, specifically these if they are efficient:
    Amazon.com : Origin 8 Bicycle Drop Bar Ends, Black : Bike Mirrors : Sports & Outdoors

Does anyone have any suggestions? Do I maybe possibly need a new stem?

I definitely DON'T want to get real road handlebars and have to change the shifters and all that.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    For your budget, I think you've nailed your changes. The tires are going to make the biggest difference so the narrower you can find the better.

Like these: Tom Ritchey Slicks

mtbr member
    You can grab a set of WTB Slicks from Performance Bikes for $30.00.

WTB Slick Flatguard Sport Tire - Performance Exclusive - Mountain Bike Tires

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by Shakester View Post
    You can grab a set of WTB Slicks from Performance Bikes for $30.00.

WTB Slick Flatguard Sport Tire - Performance Exclusive - Mountain Bike Tires
    Even though my current tires are 26x2.0, will something thinner fit?

mtbr member
    Jul 2013