The Tassajara died.

Laying the Tassajara to rest and picking up a "No Way" Rey GT

Hello all,

I had a difficult time determining which subforum to post in and eventually ended up here. It's been a mighty long time since I posted, so here it goes..

My Tassajara finally bit the dust after 9 years of riding with lots of component upgrades, tubes, lubes & tires. I logged 3,000+ miles [according to my Cateye] on the frame and after a ride the other day I noticed a massive crack in the weld where the top tube meets the head tube. Considering I bought this in 2004 and logged as many miles as I have, it's time to bid farewell. I entertained the idea of having a friend that's a welder by profession take a look, but nah.

I took a look around and had a tough time finding something around $1000 [budget] that interested me; whether it be the brand, color, components, or a combination of all these things. That is until I saw GT released a commemorative line of bikes in celebration of "No Way" Rey's twenty-five years with GT. These bikes, like Hans, are rad!

Well, I ended up buying Rey's 26" Avalanche model from Performance Bike. Now, now, before anyone pipes up about Performance not being an LBS, they indeed are my LBS. I'm in Raleigh and their HQ is based in Chapel Hill, about 10 miles from my door step, along with a store just around the corner. Plus, I couldn't say no to the 30% back with the bike purchase. The bike is in-route to my local store for pickup and should be there sometime this week.

That's just about it for my cycling story, but first, I have to figure out how to spend that ~$300 I earned in "Performance Cash" along with some PayPal money that's been collecting dust.