mtbr member
    Apr 2011

If you had $3000 to spend on a 29er...

What would you get?

I've been riding for a many years but, Im not much of a "gear-head" so I'm in the dark about changes/new bikes in the mtb world. All I know is that I want a 29er.

I mostly ride trails/singeltrack in VT and I don't know if it is worth buying a FS over a hardtail.

Anyway, I'm just looking for some bike recs. You guys know your bikes alot better than I ever will so let me know what YOU would get!

-bennett

mtbr member
    I would buy an Epic Comp 29er. Tried the 2011 model the other day. It had that "just right" feel to it.

Of course, next week my mind could change.

Former Bike Wrench
    A few models to look at:
    -The above mentioned Specialized Epic Comp
    -Giant Anthem X 29er 2
    -Niner Jet 9 X.7

mtbr member
    I think the best bang for the buck right now might be a Scott Scale 29er.

mtbr member
    I feel like I'm in kind of a similar position as you are - although I've started researching for the last month or so. There are a lot of factors to consider as everyone has slightly different needs, wants and desires when it comes to specs, brand, weight, suspension travel (or hard tail), etc. I would recommend thinking about what your wants and needs might be for this purchase and that might help to lead you in a certain direction as far as potential 29er bikes to consider.

For what it's worth I'm considering the Giant AnthemX 29er1 and a good friend is considering the Gary Fisher Rumblefish (also a 29er F/S). Good luck and enjoy the process. There seems to be quite a bit to learn!
    Life is like riding a bicycle - in order to keep your balance, you must keep moving. ~Albert Einstein

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    I think Im going to have to make a trip to the bike shop tomorrow and check out the:

Specialized Epic comp 29er
    Specialized Camber pro 29er
    Specialized Stumpjumper FSR comp 29er

Any thoughts on these guys?

Mudder