Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

I feel like a relic....

678 views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  Juan Speeder 
#1 ·
....but I guess I'm just a newb again.

Alright everybody I need an education. I have been riding for about 12 years (with an 8 year break in the middle) so everyhting has changed. I currently ride a 1994 Diamondback Ascent LX. I know its sad but I'm working on it. Anyway, I have recently starting competing in some adventure races and am looking for a new bike. The problem is I don't know the lingo anymore (Alivio, Acera, etc.). I'm just looking for a basic education and some recommendations from someone who is not trying to sell me a bike.

A few basics:
I am from South Georgia so the terrain is relatively flat, a few hills but its definitely not the Rockies. I'm 6'0", 180 lbs. and I ride 25-50 miles a week and I plan on racing about 4-5 times in a season. Mostly sprint distances on your standard singletrack. I think I've decided against full suspension based on my location and type of riding but I'm still looking for some advice on how good a bike I need. I mean I know an LX/XT bike is good but do I NEED it with as much as I ride. Conversely, I plan on continuing to ride and race so I don't want a bike I'm gonna have to replace in a year or two. Would an Alivio/Deore bike suffice.

Any help you all can offer would be greatly appreciated.

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
My advice

I wouldn't go any lower than deore that stuff works good and its cheap also if you are going for a hard tail get something with a good 4 inch travel fork like a Fox float I always use air sprung forks because they are lighter and more tunable. Try to get the best wheels you can aford because they are an expesive upgrade later. A bike by any manufacture that fis that description and fits you should be perfect for what you need. Provided you come down with a case of upgradeitis.

#5 ·
Stick with XT

Team_G2M_navigator said:
....but I guess I'm just a newb again.