Thread: HT build?

mtbr member
    Oct 2011

HT build?

I'm thinking about building up a HT this winter. I've never built a bike before, but it looks like it could be fun. I was thinking about a Santa Cruz Chameleon 4 frame. Does anyone have any experience or reviews of this frame? I'm not sure what year the Chameleon 4 was made, but I'm thinking between 2010-2012?

I'm looking to add a HT to my collection which include: 2012 Trek EX8, 2012 Trek Slash 9 and a 2005 Specialized Roubaix. I'd like the HT to able to handle some aggressive riding but mostly single track / technical rides. I'm also hoping keep it at 26 inch wheels, not sure I want a 29er just yet.

Any advise would be appreciated!
    Last edited by Hobbs305; 11-30-2012 at 10:19 PM.

mtbr member
    Are you totally set on the Chameleon? Why? The ability to go single speed or geared?

Personally, I have never been a fan of aluminum hard tails There are so many great steel and titanium frames to choose from I just dont see a reason to go with an aluminum frame..but thats just me...

undercover brother
    Quote Originally Posted by 410sprint View Post
    Are you totally set on the Chameleon? Why? The ability to go single speed or geared?

Personally, I have never been a fan of aluminum hard tails There are so many great steel and titanium frames to choose from I just dont see a reason to go with an aluminum frame..but thats just me...
    Agreed, Go steel. Aluminum is great if you are trying to save weight and plan on using it as a XC bike. Steel will be much more forgiving when the trail gets rough. I have Transition TransAM and love it. Also, look at Evil Sovereign, Cotic BFe, On One 456 evo. All are great frames with aggressive geos. The on one can be had for very cheap!

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    I would agree, stay away from alu for a hardtail.

I would say look into a El Mar or MCR.

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    Steel is perfect for a HT.